T: (0)207 4034455    E:   Facebook twitter

The British Association of Leisure Parks, Piers and Attractions

BALPPA Subgroups

To create focus and drive initiatives forward, BALPPA’s Committee Members work on specific Subgroups.

An enormous amount of work goes on behind the scenes by Committee Members that benefits the entire industry and we are extremely grateful for the time they commit.

BALPPA’s Subgroups

There are 11 subgroups in total, covering all areas of the visitor attraction industry. If you have a question for any Subgroup, please contact the BALPPA Secretariat.

  • Website Committee

Chairman – Phil Pickersgill, Innovative Leisure

Committee Members – Helen Pawley (Drayton Manor), Janice Dunphy (Web Adventure Park), John Davies (Interlink LG), Lisa Wheatley (BALPPA)

  • Governance Committee

Chairman – Gary Smart, Harbour Park

Committee Members: Richard Mancey (Paultons Park) Duncan Phillips (DP Associates), Phil Pickersgill (Innovative Leisure), Paul Kelly (BALPPA)

  • Coin Op Committee

Chairman – Tim Batstone, HB Leisure

Committee Members: Gary Smart (Harbour Park), Michelle Michael (Grand Pier), John Bollom (Ameco), Andrew Green (Family Amusements), Phil Millward (Namco Bandai), Marshall Hill (Funland), Paul Kelly (BALPPA)

  • Exhibitions Committee

Chairman – John Davies, Interlink LG

Committee Members: John Collins (John Collins Leisure & Associates), Gary Smart (Harbour Park), Phil Pickersgill (Innovative Leisure), Janice Dunphy (Web Adventure Park), Paul Kelly (BALPPA), Lisa Wheatley (BALPPA)

  • Health & Safety Committee

Chairman – Robert Kluth, Lorica Leisure

Committee Members: Alex Payne (Blackpool Pleasure Beach), Marcus Brian (Alton Towers), Wes Smart (Harbour Park), Paul Heweston and Chris Penn (West Midlands Safari Park), Mark Taylor (Paultons Park), Lee Waters (DP Leisure), Phil Pritchard (Flamingo Land), David Shelmerdine and Zoe Shelmerdine (Garmendale Engineering / GEL Rides), Elliot Richards (Gulliervers Fun), Dominic Wigley (Merlin Entertainments), Steve Plimmer, Playframes UK Ltd), George Bryan, Richard Shepherd and Jonathan Hitching (Drayton Manor), Ted Hindmarsh (Ten Pin Ltd), Andrew Green (Family Amusements), Chris Ebsworth, Royston Badham and Andrew Russell (Folly Farm), Leighton Lucas, Oakwood Theme Park, Paul Kelly (BALPPA)

  • Lobbying Committee

Chairman – Bob O’Connor, Aspinall Foundation

Committee Members: Gary Smart (Harbour Park), Tim Batstone (HB Leisure), Duncan Phillips (DP Associates), Michelle Michael (Grand Pier), Marshall Hill (Funland), Nick Thompson (Blackpool Pleasure Beach), Paul Kelly (BALPPA, George McGregor and William Blackman (Interel Consulting)

  • FEC Committee including support for indoor play and soft play centres

Chairman – Janice Dunphy, Web Adventure Park

Committee Members: Iain Westwater (Gambado), Richard Farley (Kidspace / Hobbledown), Nigel Tyler (Kidz Planet), Ian Kearney (Cheeky Monkeys), Gordon Forster (Safari MK), Janequi Carsandas (Partyman World), Lee Waters (360 Play), Tracey Bancroft (BALPPA)

  • Zoo Group

Chairman – Bob O’Connor (Aspinall Foundation)

Zoo Group meetings are open to all BALPPA Animal Attraction Members

  • Marketing Group

Chairman – Anita Waddell, Agility Marketing

Marketing Seminars are open to all BALPA Members to attend

PR Sub Group Committee

Chairman – James Crampton, Merlin Entertainments

Committee Members: Richard Mancey and Rob Griffiths (Paultons Park), Nick Thompson and Robert Owen (Blackpool Pleasure Beach), Eddie Kemsley (KidZania), Helen Pawley (Drayton Manor), Paul Kelly (BALPPA)

  • Planning, Development and Business Rates

Chairman – Richard Mancey, Paultons Park

Committee Members: Nick Laister (RPS Planning), Duncan Phillips (DP Associates)








Become a BALPPA Member

There are plenty of benefits of BALPPA Membership.  Are you missing out?

Find out more

Raise Your Profile

Sponsorship opportunities are available exclusively to BALPPA Trade Members at most of our events. Please contact events@balppa.org for more information.